BOSTON (WBZ NewsRadio) — New Hampshire and Maine have been removed from Massachusetts' shortening list of states that are exempt from the Commonwealth's travel order.
According to the Massachusetts Department of Public Health, effective 12:01 a.m. on Saturday November 21st, all travelers arriving to Massachusetts from Maine and New Hampshire must fill out a travel form with the Health Department, and must either quarantine for 14 days or produce a negative COVID-19 test.
Massachusetts now has coronavirus-related travel restrictions on 47 states and Washington D.C. Only travelers from Vermont and Hawaii are not required to fill out the Massachusetts Travel Form and do not need to quarantine upon arrival.
"The DPH metric for determining lower-risk states for the purposes of Massachusetts’ interstate travel policy considers data over two weeks before moving a state from lower risk to high risk," the DPH says. "States are included on the 'lower-risk' list based on meeting two criteria: average daily cases is below 10 per 100,000, and positive test rate is below five percent, both measured as a seven-day rolling average."
Failure to comply with the state's travel restrictions could result in a fine of up to $500.