Ann Wilson Honors Music Legends With "Immortal" CD

Ann Wilson of Heart, one of rock’s most distinctive and powerful vocalists, will release her new solo album on Friday September 14.  Fittingly titled "Immortal," the album features 10 musically diverse tracks that pay homage to some of the singer’s favorite songs and artists, all of whom have passed away in recent years.  

Wilson performed on the road this past summer as part of the touring package with Jeff Beck and Paul Rodgers, doing a cover-heavy set that included songs by the Who (for John Entwistle and Keith Moon), Audioslave (for Chris Cornell), Amy Winehouse, The Eagles (for Glenn Frey), Aretha Franklin and others. 

The new album features songs such as "Life in the Fast Lane" from the Eagles, "Luna" - an early track from Tom Petty, Audioslave's "I Am the Highway," "A Thousand Kisses Deep" from Leonard Cohen, and "Politician" - the slow-blues from Cream featuring legendary bassist and singer Jack Bruce. 

Ann Wilson talked about "Immortal" on her website: "I am proud to announce my new album. It’s not a tribute, but rather a chance for me to honor these great artists….to thank them for their messages they left while they lived.

Mike Flicker (Original Heart producer; Dreamboat Annie, Magazine, Little Queen, Dog and Butterfly, Bebe le Strange, etc.) is working with me on this new album. It has been a wonderful experience for me because I'm not only singing, but directing, too. I am able to see the project grow from an idea to a finished song, with no compromises to the original vision. My team and I are not holding back, and you can expect the unexpected on the tracks.  These artists may have left their bodies, but their souls and craft live on today."

Carter Alan

Carter Alan

Hear Carter Alan every weekday from 10am - 2pm on 100.7 WZLX. Read more


Content Goes Here