Pink's Floyd 1988 Live Album & Film Gets The Re-release Treatment Nov. 20

Pink Floyd's live Delicate Sound of Thunder was released in November 1988 to commemorate the band's massive world tour following the release of the studio album A Momentary Lapse of Reason. The tour was significant because it marked Pink Floyd's return to active duty after four and a half years of disputes following bassist and main songwriter Roger Waters' announcement that the group was a 'spent force' and was finished. However, the other three members disagreed, building a solo project by guitarist and singer David Gilmour into a fully-fledged Pink Floyd work.

Despite Waters' attempts to derail the project, Pink Floyd released the studio album A Momentary Lapse of Reason in September 1987 and went on the road. At first there was great uncertainty regarding the project - would fans like the less-conceptual Floyd and the absence of one of Waters' grand concepts like The Wall or Animals. As such, the tour began conservatively in arenas, but as album sales kicked in and 'Lapse' became a quadruple-platinum American success story (moving 10-million around the world) the tour moved up into soccer and football stadiums. Eventually after two years, the band folded it's touring tents, but not before playing to 4.25- million fans.

Pink Floyd filmed the Delicate Sound of Thunder film at Long Island’s Nassau Coliseum in August 1988 and released a double album which went on to sell triple-platinum. Now the movie has been restored, re-edited, and remixed from the original 35mm 1988 footage and enhanced with 5.1 surround sound. Similarly, the sound was completely remixed from the original multitrack tapes by longtime Pink Floyd engineer Andy Jackson with Pink Floyd’s David Gilmour, assisted by Damon Iddins.

Pink Floyd’s Delicate Sound Of Thunder will be newly available on November 20th on Blu-ray, DVD, 2-CD, 3-disc vinyl and deluxe 4-disc edition with bonus tracks. All editions feature 24-page photo booklets, with the 4-disc box edition including a 40-page photo booklet, tour poster and postcards. The 3-LP 180-gram vinyl set includes 9 songs not included on the 1988 release of the album, while the 2-CD includes 8 tracks more than its original release.


Remixed from Original Master Tapes

24-Page Booklet

Features 8 songs not on 1988 2-CD*

Disc 1 (Part 1)

1. Shine On You Crazy Diamond, Parts 1-5

2. Signs Of Life*

3. Learning To Fly

4. Yet Another Movie

5. Round And Around

6. A New Machine Part 1*

7. Terminal Frost*

8. A New Machine Part 2*

9. Sorrow

10. The Dogs Of War

11. On The Turning Away

Disc 2 (Part 2)

1. One Of These Days

2. Time

3. On The Run*

4. The Great Gig In The Sky*

5. Wish You Were Here

6. Welcome To The Machine*

7. Us And Them

8. Money

9. Another Brick In The Wall, Part 2

10. Comfortably Numb

11. One Slip*

12. Run Like Hell