Classic Lynyrd Skynyrd Live At Knebworth In 1976 To Be Released In April

On April 9, Eagle Rock Entertainment will release Lynyrd Skynyrd: Live At Knebworth ‘76, which captured the southern band’s historic performance at the legendary English festival on August 21,1976. The set will be available in a variety of audio and video formats including a DVD+CD, Blu-ray+CD, 2LP+DVD, and digital video.

Featuring the classic line-up of Ronnie Van Zant, Gary Rossington, Allen Collins, Steve Gaines, Leon Wilkeson, Artimus Pyle, Billy Powell, and The Honkettes, Lynyrd Skynyrd's set was part of a daylong festival which also featured Todd Rundgren’s Utopia, 10cc, and the headlining Rolling Stones.

This footage, originally only available via the 1996 film Freebird...The Movie, was intercut with interviews and other performance footage. Now Live At Knebworth ‘76 presents the unbridled concert experience in its entirety, presenting the show as it occurred. Kicking off with “Workin’ for MCA,” Lynyrd Skynyrd dazzled the crowd of over 150,000 attendees with a show honed tight from solid three years of touring. Displaying the powerful triple-guitar attack of Gary Rossington, Allen Collins, and Steve Gaines with Ronnie Van Zant’s signature vocals, Lynyrd Skynyrd: Live At Knebworth ’76 showcases fiery performances of the classic rock anthems “Sweet Home Alabama,” “Gimme Three Steps,” and of course, “Free Bird.”

As a bonus, the Blu-ray set also features the full-length documentary If I Leave Here Tomorrow: A Film About Lynyrd Skynyrd. Originally released in 2018, the film is an in-depth exploration of the band’s music and history.

Of course, on October 20, 1977 the tragic plane crash in Mississippi ended the career of this legendary version of Lynyrd Skynyrd. But listening to this 1976 set demonstrates how truly remarkable that unit was. Over 40 years after their inception, Lynyrd Skynyrd continues on with the lineup based around Ronnie Van Zandt's younger brother Johnnie. Carrying on after the disaster, the band has sold over 30 million albums worldwide and continues to be the standard-bearer of American southern rock.

Lynyrd Skynyrd Knebworth line-up:

Ronnie Van Zant (Lead Vocals)

Gary Rossington (Guitar)

Allen Collins (Guitar)

Steve Gaines (Guitar / Backing Vocals)

Leon Wilkeson (Bass / Backing Vocals)

Artimus Pyle (Drums / Percussion)

Billy Powell (Keyboards / Piano)


Cassie Gaines (Background Vocals)

JoJo Billingsley (Background Vocals)

Leslie Hawkins (Background Vocals)


 1           Workin’ For MCA

 2           I Ain’t The One

 3          Saturday Night Special

 4          Searching

 5           Whiskey Rock-A-Roller

 6          Travelin’ Man

 7          Gimme Three Steps

 8          Call Me The Breeze

 9          T For Texas

10          Sweet Home Alabama

11       Free Bird (for a LONG time)