Rolling Stones To Release "Tattoo You" Box-set Re-issue On October 22

Mick Jagger tweeted a tease and the Rolling Stones announced that their 40th-anniversary box set re-release of the 1981 album Tattoo You will be coming out on Oct. 22. Even now, though, fans can pre-order the package, which is available on CD, download, and vinyl formats. All options will include the re-mastered original release plus a "Lost & Found: Rarities" disc containing nine songs from the time that Tattoo You was released.

The four-disc deluxe set will also include a complete concert, Still Life, recorded at Wembley Stadium in London in 1982, plus 124-page book with tour and studio photos.

Tattoo You sent the Rolling Stones already-legendary career into a new orbit with huge hits like "Start Me Up," "Waiting on a Friend," and "Hang Fire." Even though much of the material was updated or reworked from studio leftovers going back eight years, the polished new versions sounded as fresh as ever. For instance "Start Me Up" was one of only two rock and roll takes of a reggae arrangement the band did over and over again, but could never get quite right. The take that became a #2 hit single in America had been completely forgotten and only uncovered after a thorough search was made through dozens of the group's previous studio masters.

Tattoo You joins the list of recent Rolling Stones reissues, which have included deluxe and expanded releases of Exile on Main Street, Some Girls, Sticky fingers, and Goats Head Soup.

The Rolling Stones, 'Tattoo You: 40th Anniversary' Track Listing

CD 1 - Tattoo You (2021 Remaster)

1. "Start Me Up" – Remastered 2021

2. "Hang Fire" – Remastered 2021

3. "Slave" – Remastered 2021

4. "Little T&A" – Remastered 2021

5. "Black Limousine" – Remastered 2021

6. "Neighbours" – Remastered 2021

7. "Worried About You" – Remastered 2021

8. "Tops" – Remastered 2021

9. "Heaven" – Remastered 2021

10. "No Use In Crying" – Remastered 2021

11. "Waiting On A Friend" – Remastered 2021

CD 2 – Lost & Found: Rarities

1. "Living In The Heart Of Love"

2. "Fiji Jim"

3. "Troubles A’ Comin"

4. "Shame Shame Shame"

5. "Drift Away"

6. "It’s A Lie"

7. "Come To The Ball"

8. "Fast Talking Slow Walking"

9. "Start Me Up" (Early Version)

CD 3 & CD 4 – “Still Life” (Wembley Stadium Concert 1982)

1. "Under My Thumb"

2. "When The Whip Comes Down"

3. "Let’s Spend The Night Together"

4. "Shattered"

5. "Neighbours"

6. "Black Limousine"

7. "Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)"

8. "Twenty Flight Rock"

9. "Going To A Go Go"

10. "Chantilly Lace"

11. "Let Me Go"

12. "Time Is On My Side"

13. "Beast Of Burden"

14. "Let It Bleed"

1. "You Can’t Always Get What You Want"

2. Band Introductions

3. "Little T&A"

4. "Tumbling Dice"

5. "She’s So Cold"

6. "Hang Fire"

7. "Miss You"

8. "Honky Tonk Women"

9. "Brown Sugar"

10. "Start Me Up"

11. "Jumpin’ Jack Flash"

12. "(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction"

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content